Chamber hosts business awards

The 24th annual Business Excellence Awards banquet takes place at the Penticton Lakeside Resort on Saturday. Tickets are almost sold out so if you haven’t got your tickets yet, call the chamber office right away (250-492-4103) to see if there is any left.

Congratulations to the nominees of these 10 community awards. The nominees are chosen by the citizens of Penticton and they are as follows:

The nominees for the Community Booster Award, sponsored by Prospera Credit Union, are Steve Toth and Kevin Aschhoff, Barb Haynes, Barb Schneiderat, Peters Brothers Construction, Penticton Lakeside Resort, The Soupateria, Andrew Jakubeit, Pentastic Jazz Festival, Save On Foods, Sun FM & EZ Rock radio stations and Morpheus Graphics.

The Hospitality/Tourism Award is sponsored by Downtown Penticton Association and the nominees are The Kettle Valley Steam Railway, Downtown Penticton Association, Penticton Hospitality Association, Penticton Lakeside Resort, Apex Accommodations, Pacific Northwest Elvis Festival and the Cannery Brewing Company.

The Home Based Business Award is sponsored by HSBC and the nominees are All She Wrote Consulting, Hoodoo Adventure Company, South Okanagan Mediation Services, Environ Geomatics, Diguno :: Media and Terrell House Cellars.

Nominees for the Industrial Business Award, sponsored by Greyback Construction Ltd., are Cantex – Okanagan Construction Ltd., Outdoor Living Manufacturing, Structurlam and G. Little Electric.

The Retail/Service Business Award, sponsored by the Penticton Western News, nominees are Agnes Stayanovich Interior Design, Guerard’s Fine Furniture, Jack’s Java Stop – Drive Thru, Peach City Runners & Adventure Sports, Wild Rose Cottage, Riverside Fitness & Health, Print Factory, Taco Time, Expert Hearing Solutions, Purdy’s Chocolates, Fusion Clothing and Morpheus Graphics.

The New Business Award is sponsored by Valley First and the nominees are Willow Community Midwives, Le Cheap, C’est Chic, Hooked on Books, Please Mum, Vintage & Vogue, Propeller Clothing, Bodies on Power, Ogo’s Ice Cream, Birch West Interiors and Penticton Kia.

The Young Citizen of the Year is sponsored by FortisBC and the very worthy nominees are Samantha Wright, Cheyenne Gannon, Poonam Chahal, Danielle Chetner, Chanel and Emily Chartrand. The winner of this award will receive a grant from FortisBC to further their education at the university or college of their choice.

The Young Entrepreneur Award is sponsored by JCI-Penticton and the nominees are Katie Bowling, Bryan Quinlan and Mike Caley, Becky Kay, Ryan Griffith, Cam Lawton and Corinne Inman.

The Business of the Year Award is sponsored by Pattison Sign Group and the nominees are Scott Mayhew Contracting Ltd., Aesthetic Solutions, Poplar Grove Winery, Penticton Herald, Riverside Fitness & Health, Giant FM 100.7 and Cherry Lane shopping centre.

Business Leader of the Year is proudly sponsored by TD Canada Trust and the nominees are Peter Beulah, Wendy Williams, Duane Jordan, Shirlee Petrat, Andy Oakes, Joanne Gagne, Barb Haynes, Jason Cox and Colin Campbell.

Lorraine Renyard is the general manager of the Penticton and Wine Country Chamber of Commerce.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event