Women nominated for SOWINS awards

More than 40 women are being recognized with nominations to the Women Front & Centre awards dinner and gala hosted by the South Okanagan Women In Need Society.

Winners will be announced on March 5 at the Penticton Lakeside Resort in the categories of arts, community, contribution, courage, finance, entrepreneur and business, excellence in instruction, excellence in service, health and wellness, lifetime achievement, sports, trades, volunteerism and young leader.

This year’s theme for the event is the 1980s. Tribute band Abra Cadabra will provide entertainment at the 2011 SOWINS Women’s Awards and a ticket also includes a gourmet dinner, complimentary glass of champagne and wine at each table. A raffle, live and silent auction will also take place. Tickets can be purchased in advance only and are $65 each ($30 for a nominee) with funds raised going to aid regional women and children facing domestic abuse. Attendees are encouraged to dress in 1980s style and they could win a prize for best dressed couple. Tickets for the event are only available at WINGS Thrift Store located at 456 Main St. and the Penticton Lakeside Resort.

Nominees for this year include Arts: Terry Miller (Summerland) and Tracy Fehr (Summerland); Community Contribution: Marji Basso (Oliver), Samarpan Faasse (Penticton), Laura Pettigrew (Penticton), Janice Perrino (Summerland), Shelene Rasmussen (Penticton), Frances Sologuk (Osoyoos) and Charlotte Stringam (Oliver); Courage: Syl Blanchard (Penticton), Vareia Green (Penticton), Darlene Gruetzbach (Penticton) and Amanda Harris (Penticton); Finance, Entrepreneur, Business: Mary Ellen Heidt (Penticton), Marlene Jones (Penticton) and Andrea Robertson (Penticton); Health and Wellness: Susan Barnes (Penticton), Sally Bouchard (Penticton), Hazel Carter (Penticton), Joanne Gagne (Penticton), Connie Kiefiuk (Naramata) and Wendy Williams (Penticton); Excellence in Instruction: Maureen King (Summerland), Nancy Noble-Hearle (Penticton), Kathy Pierre (Penticton) and Yasmin Thorpe (Penticton); Lifetime Achievement: Marion Best (Naramata), Brigid Kemp (Penticton) and Wendy Binggeli (Penticton); Excellence in Service: Debbie Belanger (Penticton), Dale Belvedere (Summerland), Tania Carter (Penticton), Deb Forlin and Kelly-Anne Matthews (Osoyoos), Brenda Hamill (Penticton), June Harrington (Osoyoos), Theresa Humphries (Penticton) and Mary Anne Verge (Penticton); Sports: Kristi Richards (Summerland); Trades: Rishia McDowell (Penticton); Volunteerism: Lauraine Bailie (Penticton), Sharen DeGelder (Penticton), Sandra Henderson and Judy Jeffries (Penticton), Heather Jackson (Okanagan Falls), Gitta Schoenne (Penticton) and Hope White (Penticton); Young Leader: Jakki Seidler (Oliver) and Camilla Volky (Penticton).


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event