The Town of Osoyoos celebrates its 75th anniversary as an incorporated community today.
The town was incorporated on Jan. 14, 1946.
Before incorporation, the town was governed by the Board of Trade, which became the Chamber of Commerce for Osoyoos.
The Municipality of the Village of Osoyoos held its first official meeting at the CPR Station on Jan. 31, 1946, where William Andrews was elected Chairman of the Board while Gordon Kelly and Joseph Armstrong were elected as Village Commissioners.
The title of mayor wasn’t awarded until 1968 along with commissioners becoming aldermen. In 1993, the title of alderman was replaced with councillors.
In 1951, the village had a population of just 899, growing to become a town in 1983. As of 2016’s census, the town currently boasts a population of over 5,065.
To report a typo, email: firstname.lastname@example.org.