Skip to content

Penticton Vees’ quest for ‘3-peat’ begins: Here’s what you need to know

Vees and Eagles battle in Game 1 of BCHL Finals on Friday, May 17
The Surrey Eagles and Penticton Vees battle at the South Okanagan Events Centre in January 2024. (Photo- Cherie Morgan)

The Penticton Vees’ quest for three straight BCHL titles begins tonight, May 17.

After topping the Salmon Arm Silverbacks in Game 7 of the Interior Conference Finals, the Vees visit the Lower Mainland to battle the Surrey Eagles in Game 1 of the Fred Page Cup Finals.

READ MORE: Schedule released for BCHL Finals with Penticton Vees, Surrey Eagles

READ MORE: Penticton Vees complete ‘special’ comeback, advance to BCHL Finals

Here’s what you need to know, as Penticton looks to become the first team in 13 years to win three straight league championships:

Rematch from 2013

This marks the second time the two teams have met in the finals, with the first being in 2013.

Surrey beat Penticton in six games to claim the Fred Page Cup. Since that series, the Vees have gone on to win four BCHL titles.

A Lower Mainland-based team hasn’t won the trophy since the Coquitlam Express did so in 2014.

Looking to make history

The Vees have won back-to-back Fred Page Cup titles, downing the Nanaimo Clippers in 2022 and Alberni Valley Bulldogs in 2023.

A BCHL team hasn’t completed the “three-peat” since the Vernon Vipers from 2009 to 2011.

Battle of top offence, best defence

Surrey led all BCHL teams in scoring during the regular season, averaging more than four goals a game. Caden Cranston, the Eagles’ first-line forward, was named the league’s MVP in 2023-2024.

Penticton, meanwhile, led the league in goals against.

Its goaltender duo of Will Ingemann and Andrew Ness captured the Wally Forslund Trophy after combining to post a goals-against average of 2.05.

Up next: Rocky Mountain Challenge

The winner of the 2024 Fred Page Cup will go on to play the Alberta Cup champion in a best-of-three Rocky Mountain Challenge series, from May 31 to June 2.

The Brooks Bandits are currently battling the Sherwood Park Crusaders for the Alberta-based trophy.

About the Author: Logan Lockhart

Read more