Oliver voters change course

Only one councillor returning to council table in Oliver

Oliver residents voted for a change of direction in local governance, ousting their mayor and all but one councillor.

“I made some unpopular decisions or was involved in them in the last year,” said Hampson. “I took strong positions on things and I would still take the same strong positions and that cost me votes.”

Hampson said the issues that cost him re-election included the position he took on the beer kegs at the Mesa Hotel fire, changes to the road naming system and the water metering project.

“I think there are some candidates who may have given the impression they were going to make some changes to water metering, but the reality is they can’t make any changes to that because it is not sustainable if we don’t charge what we are charging for our water. But, that is the game of politics,” said Hampson. “I have no regrets in the decisions we made.”

Former Oliver mayor Ronald Hovanes defeated Hampson 941-612. Of the councillors seeking re-election only Jack Bennest kept his seat.

“I survived because a broom cleaned out City Hall,” said Bennest. “Two people decided not to run again and two people were defeated, which leaves me standing alone. When the new council is sworn in Dec. 5 that will bring three people to council with quite a bit of experience in Linda Larson, Ron Hovanes and myself, then two new people.”

Linda Larson (969) led the votes for Oliver council, followed by David Mattes (958), incumbent Bennest (893) and Maureen Doerr (890). Those finishing out of the running for a spot on council were Corinne Janow (757), incumbent Terry Schafer (656), Tyrone Borba (280) and Ronald Ethier (203).

“There was a leftness to the council and I think it has moved to a more business-like sense. I understand quite well we have to keep costs down and think business-like and not think of the public as a big trough that you can come and get money from. I think we need restraint in this very difficult time in the world,” said Bennest.

Osoyoos Mayor Stu Wells (1,262) maintained his role with the city in a landslide victory over Ray Vandenberg (310).

Two newcomers to council led the popular vote: Sue McKortoff (1,077) and Mike Plante (973). They were followed by incumbents CJ Rhodes (748) and Michael Ryan (685). Those not earning a seat included Jim King (626), incumbent Margaret Chadsey (592), incumbent Ted Cronmiller (455), Sy Murseli (392) and Don Brogan (365). Osoyoos had a 40.2 per cent voter turnout.

Princeton incumbent mayor Randy McLean (377) lost his seat to Fred Thomas (539) by just 162 votes. Incumbents Jason Earle and Frank Armitage (both with 722) topped the polls, followed by incumbent Marilyn Harkness (542) and Kim Maynard (465).  Incumbent Ray Jarvis (445) and Christina Longley-Scarisbrick (293) fell short in their election bids.