The Penticton Indian Band newly elected chief and council (from left to right) Joseph Pierre

PIB vote recount doesn’t affect results

Results for the Penticton Indian Band council election remain the same after a recount

In the end, the result was the same, but the Penticton Indian Band electoral officers found themselves doing a recount yesterday.

While preparing the official election package for registering with band records and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada an error in calculation was discovered in the count for PIB council candidates.

The electoral officers immediately locked the ballots away and contacted all the council candidates to reconvene for an official recount. Each candidate was informed of the error, which might have changed the outcome of the vote.

Read more: Penticton Indian Band elects council members

To maintain the integrity of the count, only the candidates, their scrutineer and electoral officials were present.

Before publicly releasing details of the recount, the electoral officers wanted to have an open process for the candidates.

“When our community is faced with these types of challenges, being open with those it effects, is the way we get through it. We do it right away, there’s no waiting around or mincing words,” said electoral officer Valerie Baptiste.

All those present were provided tally sheets and after every ten ballots counted, all those present would verify the running total. An independent volunteer was invited to participate and verify the transparency of the process.

The selected format was chosen to reduce interruptions and/or distractions, increasing efficiency and minimizing the margin for error.

The recount lasted until after midnight in the presence of four electoral officials (two officers and two recorders), seven candidates, and four scrutineers.

The result of the detailed recount was that while some of the individual vote tallies changed, the same candidates were elected to council. There were 329 ballots cast, with 16 spoiled.

The eight seats will be held by: Elliot Tonasket – 160, Joseph Pierre – 147, Suzanne Johnson – 142, Naomi Gabriel – 140, Jonathan Kruger – 138, Clint George – 127, Denise Lecoy – 121 and Tim Lezard – 119.

Chad Eneas was elected as PIB chief in October.

Read more: New PIB Chief Chad Eneas thanks supporters

Just Posted

Arrest made for vandalism of former home of Penticton man accused of murder

RCMP confirmed one person has been arrested in relation to the alleged vandalism

Respected wildlife artist in Penticton dies

According to a post by his family, Terry Isaac died on July 16

Snowbirds stop in the Okanagan for fuel

The Snowbirds were in Penticton for a brief time to re-fuel on their way west.

Penticton OCP not quite ready, returns to council Aug. 6

City council voted to table discussions about community plan until last-minute concerns addressed

Committee recommends rate freeze for City of Penticton electricity until 2o22

The committee also recommended minimal increases for water and waste water treatment utilities

New champions crowned at Naramata Cherry Pit competition

A group of first-time competitors have taking the Naramata Cherry Pit championship titles

BCHL: Alberni Valley Bulldogs have been sold

Victoria company has purchased BCHL team, but will keep it in Port Alberni

“Does Kirby care?” B.C. First Nation’s group using geo-targeted ads in Houston, Texas for justice

The Heiltsuk Tribal Council has called out Kirby Corporation for the Nathan E. Stewart oil spill

Trudeau announces $79M investment for 118 more public transit buses across B.C.

Contributions from municipal to federal level to fund more buses in a bid to cut commutes

B.C. woman wins record $2.1 million on casino slot machine

‘That night was so surreal … I wasn’t able to sleep or eat for the first two days,’ she said

Two Okanagan robbers have been court charged

Paul Davis Houle and Tyler Brice Rathbone face break and enter charges

After B.C. dad’s death, Technical Safety BC wants changes to trampoline park rules

Jay Greenwood, 46, did ‘a series of acrobatic manoeuvres prior to a fall that caused serious injury and cardiac arrest’

Auto theft numbers decline in Princeton; thefts from vehicles on the increase

Policing statistics show changing trends in rural community

Luxury home auction kicks off in Lake Country

Questions circle around how an unreserved auction will work

Most Read