Continental Cup teams that will compete in Penticton announced

Teams announced for the 2013 Continental Cup hosted by Penticton on Jan. 10 to 13.

Four Canadian teams will be among the 12 here for the ninth edition of the World Financial Group Continental Cup.

In a press release issued early this week, the curling tournament will feature six teams from North America and the world.

North America is to be represented by Canadians Glenn Howard, Kevin Martin, Heather Nedohin and Jennifer Jones, along with Americans Heath McCormick and Allison Pottinger.

Kelley Law, a 2002 Olympic bronze medallist will captain the North America team. Rick Lang, a two-time world champion will coach. Howard,  a four-time Brier and world champion, qualified by winning last years Tim Horton’s Brier in Saskatoon, while Martin earned his berth after winning the  2011 Capital One Canada Cup in Cranbrook.

Representing the world as skips will be Sweden’s Niklas Edin, Scotland’s Tom Brewster, Norway’s Thomas Ulsrud, Sweden’s Margaretha Sigfridsson, Switzerland’s Mirjam Ott and Scotland’s Eve Muirhead. Captaining the world’s team will be Scotland’s former world champion David Hay, while Sweden’s Peja Lindholm, a three-time world champion, will coach.

Brewster earned silvers during the last two world championships losing to Canada’s Jeff Stoughton in Regina in 2011 and Howard  in 2012, while Edin won bronze both years. Ulsrud took silver  in the 2010 Vancouver Olympics after losing to Martin. He placed fourth at the last two world championships. Ott is a two-time Olympic silver medallist and current world champion, while Muirhead is a 2010 silver medallist and the reigning European champion.

“We have some of the best curlers in the world coming to Penticton,” said host committee chair Kim Kirkham. “This event is sure to be a great economic boost for Penticton. The City of Penticton  and our local curling communities are in for a really great show.”

A new points system will also be in place for the WFG Continental Cup. A total of 60 points is now available. The side that earns more than 30 points will be declared the champion. For the six mixed doubles and six singles matches, one point will be given for each victory, one–half point if tied). There will now be 18 team games (nine men’s and nine women’s) played, instead of the previous 12, each worth one.

The winning teams receive $52,000 Canadian, while the losing team receives $26,000. The side which generates the highest points total from the six Skins games will receive an additional $13,000 ($500 per player, plus captain and coach).

Since the inaugural championship, the two teams have each won four times.

TSN will provide exclusive television coverage of the championship.

For ticket  and other event information, visit


Just Posted

Penticton Overdose Prevention Society co-founders Desiree Franz, Shane Surowski and Stephanie Lines have created the city’s first unsanctioned public overdose prevention site using an old wine-tour bus. The site began operations in June 2021. (Desiree Franz/Facebook)
Volunteers launch Penticton’s first public supervised injection site

2021 is on pace to be the deadliest year for overdoses in Penticton on record

Four golfers from Fairview Mountain Golf Club in Oliver will golf from sunrise to sunset to raise funds for ALS on June 29. (Submitted)
Golfing from sunrise to sunset in Oliver for ALS

Four golfers from Fairview Mountain Golf Club have taken up the challenge June 29

Jann Arden will embark on Canada-wide tour Spring 2022 with a stop in Penticton at the South Okanagan Events Centre on June 13. (Contributed)
Jann Arden coming to Penticton in 2022

The Jann Arden Live! tour has been rescheduled for 2022

A storm watch has been issued for the Okanagan, Kootenays and Columbia regions of B.C. (Calvin Dickson photo)
Another severe thunderstorm watch issued for the Okanagan

Conditions are favourable for thunderstorms that may produce strong wind gusts, hail and heavy rain

The South Okanagan Tim Hortons raised over $4,000 through the three day orange doughnut promotion with 100 per cent of proceeds going to to the Residential School Survivors Society. The owner of these locations matched the amount. (Monique Tamminga Western News)
South Okanagan Tim Hortons raises over $8K for residential school survivors

More than $4,000 worth of doughnuts were purchased over three days

Singer-songwriter Jann Arden is pictured with a draft horse. (Canadian Horse Defence Coalition)
Jann Arden backs petition to stop live horse export

June 14 is the International Day to End Live Export of Animals

Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price (31) is scored on by Vegas Golden Knights defenseman Alec Martinez, not pictured, during the second period in Game 1 of an NHL hockey Stanley Cup semifinal playoff series Monday, June 14, 2021, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/John Locher)
Habs fall 4-1 to Vegas Golden Knights in Game 1 of NHL semifinal series

Match was Montreal’s first game outside of Canada in 2021

(Dave Ogilvie photo)
One injured after being pinned by fallen forklift near Peachland

West Kelowna emergency crews responded to reports of a person stuck under a forklift

Kelowna-Lake Country MLA Norm Letnick, assistant deputy speaker at the B.C. legislature, presides over committee discussions. The legislature is completing its delayed spring session this week, with most MLAs participating by video conference. (Hansard TV)
B.C.’s daily COVID-19 infections dip below 100 over weekend

Only 68 new cases recorded Monday, four additional deaths

B.C. ambulance station in Revelstoke is expected to get a new system called the Scheduled On-Call (SOC) this fall. (Liam Harrap - Revelstoke Review)
B.C. ambulance changes could put Revelstoke residents at risk, warn local paramedics

Paramedics said to expect a substantial increase in ambulance response time starting this fall

This goose family went for a leisurely stroll down Vernon’s Main Street Saturday, April 25. (Dave Deshane photo)
Controversial Vernon goose cull won’t fly this year

Necessary permit procedures held up at a federal level

Mounties cover a burgundy truck with a tent at Buckerfields in West Kelowna on Monday, June 14. The RCMP is investigating after a woman’s body was found inside the truck. (Amandalina Letterio/Capital News)
West Kelowna RCMP investigating suspicious death after body found in truck

Police responded to a truck parked out front of a Main Street business where the body was found

The BC Ferries website went down for a short while Monday morning following a provincial announcement that recreational travel between health authorities can resume Tuesday. (Black Press Media file photo)
BC Ferries’ website crashes in wake of provincial reopening announcement

Website back up now, recreational travel between health regions to resume as of Tuesday

The Kamloops Indian Residential School is photographed using a drone in Kamloops, B.C., Monday, June, 14, 2021. The remains of 215 children were discovered buried near the former school earlier this month. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Communities grapple with what to do with former residential and day schools

Some tear them down as a tool to help healing, others repurpose them as tools for moving forward

Most Read