Player development in lacrosse improving

Penticton Minor Lacrosse Association seeing growth on and off the field

Connor Ramage

Connor Ramage

Development was key in the success of the Penticton Minor Lacrosse Association in 2014.

The PMLA had its midget B, bantam A1 and peewee C teams advance to provincials this season.

“While having teams compete at provincials is an important success, the most important measure of success is every player developing, improving and enjoying the game,” said outgoing PMLA president Dan Van Os. “Providing a proper and positive  teaching and learning environment is very significant in determining an organization’s success.”

Players showed improvement in skill development and team play. Van Os said that having two practices a week is important to develop skills, while game play reinforced what has been learned and what needed more work.

Lacrosse also continues to grow in Penticton.

The larger increase was seen in field lacrosse which grew from 25 players to 40, while box increased from 104 to 106.

The association also received $10,8000 from the provincial government, which can be used for equipment, training and development.

On the field, the association has Connor Ramage on Team B.C.

“It’s amazing, it’s great,” said Ramage. “It feels good to be able to represent my province for lacrosse.”

Ramage attended a camp in Langley during Thanksgiving weekend and said he learned a lot while also meeting several people.

Ramage will begin playing for Team B.C. next September. He was joined by Trenton Henson at the camp.

Dan Chetner, who coached Ramage in the U14 Interior Field Lacrosse League, said it was a great opportunity for both as they have had tremendous seasons.

“Both players have improved and worked hard at their positions,” said Chetner.

During their annual general meeting, the association handed out awards. Winners are as follows:

Midget: Head Coach – Dan Van Os

MVP: Michael MacLean

Most Improved: Tyler Koppe

Most Sportsmanlike: Dyawen Louie


Bantam A: Head Coach – Dan Chetner

MVP: Cairo Rogers

Most Improved: Connor Ramage

Most Sportsmanlike:

Freddy Harbinson


Bantam B: Head Coach – Cliff Shortreed

MVP: Matt Carson

Most Improved: Adam Lacroix

Most Sportsmanlike: Tayedra Koppe


Peewee A: Head Coach – Del Halladay

MVP: Rowan Brown

Most Improved: Finn Halladay

Most Sportsmanlike: Keagan Allen


Peewee B: Head Coach – Allan Pawliuk

MVP: Clinton Marsden-Blackface

Most Improved: Rhys MacDonald

Most Sportsmanlike: Meghan Cote


Novice: Head Coach – Chris Danby

MVP: Connor Danby

Most Improved: Fredo Monaghan

Most Sportsmanlike: Chay Gettens


MiniTyke/Tyke: Head Coach – Mike Wood

MVP: Brendan Becker

Most Improved: Luke Wood

Most Sportsmanlike:

Noah Schwab



Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up