Four Vees selected to BCHL all-star teams

Vees' Wade Murphy, Troy Stecher, John Siemer and Brad McClure make BCHL all-star teams

PENTICTON VEES forward Wade Murphy

PENTICTON VEES forward Wade Murphy

The British Columbia Hockey League announced its selections for all-star teams. First, second and all-rookie teams replaced the game which has last played after the 2009-10 season.

On the first team for the Vees is Wade Murphy and Troy Stecher. During Thursdays Coach’s Corner, Vees coach-GM Fred Harbinson said Murphy has been really consistent for most of the year.

“He’s kind of done a little bit of everything,” said Harbinson. “He has killed penalties, put up a good portion of points, both on the power play, even strength. Well deserved to be on the first team.”

Vees play-by-play broadcaster Fraser Rodgers talked about his impressive point production despite missing games. Part of Harbinson’s response had to do with the World Junior A Challenge in Yarmouth, N.S.

“I think the junior A challenge this year was a tough tournament on all our players just because of the travel,” he said. “Had an effect for probably a month.”

Murphy was joined on the first team by Stecher, the Vees captain. Harbinson said there’s not many teams that wouldn’t love to have Troy in their lineup.

“He is just a well-rounded individual,” said Harbinson. “A great leader. He’s a player that we’re definitely going to miss after this year.”

Stecher is three points behind former Vees Shane Hanna of Salmon Arm, who leads defenceman with 49 points in 52 games. Devon Toews was also in the mix, but the Surrey blue liner is suspended for the final two games of the regular season.

John Siemer was selected to the second team. Siemer, who has 18 points in 17 games with the Vees, including 15 assists, was chosen for the second all-star team. Harbinson said the former Coquitlam Express forward had his best game in a 5-4 win over the Trail Smoke Eaters March 2. He collected three assists in that game and according to Harbinson, could have had more points if it weren’t for chances missed. Harbinson also praised his play away from the puck.

On the all-rookie team is Brad McClure, who sits 30th in BCHL scoring, made the all-rookie team. With 27 goals and 45 points in 52 games, Harbinson said, “He’s one of my favorite players.”

“He plays really hard game in game out,” said the coach. “I love his energy. His tenacity along the boards, in the corners, in front of the net. He gets to the dirty areas. He’s really growing his game. He should be a real force in our league for the rest of this year and next.”

Below is a list of each team:

BCHL First Team

Interior Conference

F – Marcus Basara, West Kelowna Warriors   D – Shane Hanna, Salmon Arm SilverBacks

F – Seb Lloyd, West Kelowna Warriors   G – Tyler Steel, Merritt Centennials


Coastal Conference

F – Mario Puskarich, Langley Rivermen   D – Devon Toews, Surrey Eagles

F – Brady Shaw, Surrey Eagles          D – Craig Wyszomirksi, Surrey Eagles

F – Luke Esposito, Chilliwack Chiefs       G – Mitch Gillam, Chilliwack Chiefs


BCHL Second Team

Interior Conference

F – Regan Soquila, Merritt Centennials     D – Brett Corkey, Vernon Vipers

D – Josh Monk, West Kelowna Warriors

F – Brent Baltus, Trail Smoke Eaters         G – Tyler Briggs, West Kelowna Warriors


Coastal Conference

F – Adam Tambellini, Surrey Eagles          D – D.J. Jones, Victoria Grizzlies

F – Austin Plevy, Chilliwack Chiefs     D – Bo Pellah, Alberni Valley Bulldogs

F – Phil Zielonka, Chilliwack Chiefs           G – Michael Santaguida, Surrey Eagles


All Rookie Team

D – Jarrett Brown, Cowichan Valley Capitals

F – Phil Zielonka, Chilliwack Chiefs       D – Dane Birks, Merritt Centennials

F – Luke Esposito, Chilliwack Chiefs    G – Michael Santaguida, Surrey Eagles






Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

The Campbell Mountain Landfill and other landfills operated by the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen will have reduced hours from December 2020 to the end of February 2021. (Contributed photo)
Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen landfills reduce hours for winter

Measures will take effect from December 2020 until end of February 2021

Penticton’s Landmark Cinemas has closed for the time being due to the coronavirus pandemic.(Google Maps photo)
Penticton movie theatre closes due to COVID-19, again

In compliance with the new provincial public health orders

The lights are on to kick off the holiday season at the Naramata Inn. (Brennan Phillips - Western News)
Naramata’s Christmas light competition starts Dec. 3

Naramata Inn sparkles with 25,000 lights, local menu and wines

Penticton bylaw services department will have more of presence in the community come December. (Submitted photo)
Penticton bylaw services to ramp up enforcement for the holidays

New coronavirus measures have already resulted in a handful of calls to bylaw services

Morning Start: Humans might be able to hibernate like bears

Your morning start for Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2020

The Animal Food Bank is asking for donations as the pandemic continues and the holidays approach. (Twila Amato - Black Press Media)
Okanagan Animal Food Bank in need of donations as pandemic continues

The Animal Food Bank provides food for any domestic pet in need

A colourful inflatable igloo is a new addition to Vernon Winter Carnival 2021, if the multi-day event can proceed amid health regulations. (Vernon Winter Carnival photo)
Vernon Winter Carnival still hoping to light up 2021 amid COVID-19

Event gets support from city in attempts to continue while navigating health regulations

B.C. Liberal interim leader Shirley Bond speaks to reporters from Prince George via Zoom conference, Nov. 24, 2020. MLAs are being sworn in for the legislature session this week, many of them also by video. (B.C. legislature)
B.C. Liberal leadership contest will wait for election post-mortem

Interim leader set to face NDP on payments for COVID-19

McDonald’s at 155 Hollywood Road N in Kelowna. (Contributed)
Kelowna McDonald’s reopens after closure due to COVID-19 exposure

The restaurant shut down on Monday for a thorough cleaning and sanitization after a staff member tested positive for the virus

Landmark GRand 10 Cinemas in Kelowna, B.C. (Contributed)
New COVID-19 protocols temporarily close Okanagan theatres

Kelowna Cineplex and Landmark 10 are part of the latest health regulations in limiting events

Product Care offers more than <a href="" target="_blank">150 free drop-off locations</a> in B.C. (
Recycling broken or burnt string lights can reduce holiday landfill waste

In 2019, Product Care Recycling diverted more than 11.6 million light bulbs from landfills

(Firedog Photography)
Family rescued from Peachland area after spending night in a truck

The family was off-roading when their truck battery died and became stranded

The Vernon Towne Theatre and Galaxy Cinemas are closed under the latest pandemic protocols. (File photo)
COVID-19 closes North Okanagan movie theatres, again

Galaxy Cinemas and Towne Theatre part of latest health regulations in limiting events

Most Read