Cannery Brewing Company owner Patt Dyck behind the taps at their Ellis Street location. Cannery Brewing is one of the nominees for the Farm to Glass category of the 2018 Business Excellence Awards presented by TD Canada Trust.

Cannery Brewing Company owner Patt Dyck behind the taps at their Ellis Street location. Cannery Brewing is one of the nominees for the Farm to Glass category of the 2018 Business Excellence Awards presented by TD Canada Trust.

Nominees announced for 2018 Business Excellence Awards

Number of nominations received double last year’s

The Penticton & Wine Country Chamber of Conference has announced nomination numbers for the 2018 awards have doubled from the previous year.

In total, the 2018 Business Excellence Awards presented by TD Canada Trust received 200 nominations across 15 categories. These awards recognize businesses, organizations and individuals in Penticton and area that have achieved excellence in the community through their own abilities, efforts and initiatives. Winners will be announced on Oct. 13 at the Business Excellence Awards Gala, held at the Penticton Lakeside Resort.

“It is truly inspiring to see the enthusiasm to recognize the outstanding contributions our businesses, non-profits and community leaders make to this region,” said the Chamber’s executive director, Kim Kirkham.

Related: 2018 Business Excellence Awards open for nominations

A couple new changes are coming to the annual awards, which are in their 31st year of running.

“(Firstly,) the Community Impact Award will be a people’s choice award. That means, this award will not go to the traditional judging panel, but instead we will invite voting from Chamber members via a survey, and the General Public via Facebook,” said Kirkham.

Additionally, the Chamber has asked Travel Penticton to organize a judging panel to select the Tourism Excellence Award winner.

“Travel Penticton is great community partner, and it makes sense to have them involved in the process of selecting a recipient for Tourism Excellence. Travel Penticton will have clearly defined criteria with each nomination weighted according to their relative importance in meeting the requirements,” said Kirkham.

The remaining 13 categories will be judged by a five-panel selection committee comprised of business professionals and community leaders. Each judge will be required to sign a confidentiality agreement and disclose any conflict of interest.

The 2018 award nominee list:

Sustainable Resource Industry Excellence Award – Sponsored by Greyback Construction

Soda Creek Soap Co

Ogopogo Tours


Service Excellence Award – Sponsored by Fortis BC

Fountain Tire

McPhail Kilt Makers

Lisa Borba Hair Studio

T-Bones Fresh Meal Market

Life & Love Photography

Brandie Elfstrom Mobile Hair

McKinney’s Wine Wagon Inc.

Okanoggin Barbers

Front Street Jewellers

Jafa Signs

Andrew Sheret Ltd

Freedom Bike Shop

Crush Real Estate Group

Aladdin Flooring Carpet One

Debra Formo Personal Real Estate Corp

Pearce Schneiderat

Anoble Green

Buy The Sea Seafood

Grant King Men’s Wear

Melt Mineral Spa

Boyd Autobody & Glass

Sherwood Trophies & Signs

Ellis Creek Kitchens

Newsmaker of the Year – Sponsored by Penticton Toyota

The Nest & Nectar

The People’s Soda Co.

Total Restoration Services

The “Peach” Ice Cream Shop


Penticton Vees

South Okanagan Events Centre

Travel Penticton

RedHead Mare Media

Keith MacIntyre

Health & Wellness in the Workplace Award – Sponsored by BDO Canada LLP

PURE Gym & Juicery

Total Restoration Services

Valley First Credit Union

Windward Software

Boston Pizza

Farm to Glass Award – Sponsored by Parker’s Chrysler Dodge Jeep

Serendipity Winery

Old Order Distilling Co.

Ruby Blues Winery

Maple Leaf Spirits

Howling Moon Craft Cider

Cannery Brewing

Workplace Culture Excellence – Sponsored by South Okanagan Immigrant and Community Services

Duffy Baker Construction Corp

Life & Love Photography

Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre

Tim Hortons

Silver Grizzly Native Crafts

Ooknakane Friendship Centre

Tourism Excellence – Sponsored by Travel Penticton

Forest Green Man Lavender

Coyote Cruises

SS Sicamous

Okanagan Wibit – Penticton


The “Peach” Ice Cream Shop

Penticton Speedway

Penticton Farmers’ Market

Bad Tattoo

Ogopogo Tours

Wrights Beach Camp

Community Volunteer of the Year – Sponsored by ABK Restoration Services

Koa Hughes

Jason Cox

Tracy Van Raes

Christina Clare

Ceiligh Tummon

Michelle MacElroy

Dr. Adam Konanz

Kristine Lee Shepherd

Kristine Jack

Keith MacIntyre

Josh Shulman

Community Impact Award – Sponsored by Grant Thornton LLP

The Nest & Nectar

Boyd Autobody & Glass

Starlit Yoga

Save on Foods

South Okanagan Immigrant & Community Services

Cascades Casino

Ogopogo Tours

LocoLanding Adventure Park


Boston Pizza

Freedom Bike Shop

The Bum Wrap

Penticton Speedway

Penticton Vees

Non-Profit Organization of the Year Award – Sponsored by Total Restoration Services

Get Bent Active Arts Society

South Okanagan Immigrant & Community Services

Penticton & District Hospice Society

Dragonfly Pond Family Society

Ooknakane – Friendship Centre

Penticton Excel

Footprints to Technology

Canadian Mental Health Association

JCI Penticton

OSNS Child Development Centre

Y.E.S Youth Group

New Business Award – Sponsored by Valley First Credit Union

Something Blue Photography

Nails Time & Spa

Life & Love Photography

PURE Gym & Juicery

NuVista Chiropractic and Wellness

Patio Burger & Ice Cream Co.

Chute Creek Construction

Inspire You Esthetics & Brows

Messier’s Concrete & Landscaping

Spark Media

McKinney’s Wine Wagon Inc.

McPhail Kilt Makers

Employee of the Year Award – Sponsored by Downtown Penticton Association

Alexandra Broddy – Winecrush

Kevin Tennert – Save on Foods

Kendra Carlson – The Nest & Nectar

Alisha Hilsendager – The Nest & Nectar

Aja Grouette – Get Bent Yoga &Dance

Jaquie Carbajal – NuVista Chiropractic

Sara Collins – Craft Corner Kitchen

Sharlene Raab – Total Restoration Services

Lynn Kaing – Okanagan Chiropractic Center

Geoff Davies – Minuteman Press

Amy Fink – Big Bear Software

Rhonda Schappert – Sandman Hotel Penticton

Harry Holman – Fairview Liquor Store

Julie Read – Wildstone Construction

Liz Murphy – Hoodoo Adventure Co.

Linda Brooks – Penticton & District Hospice Society

Young Business Leader of the Year Sponsored by JCI and The Fourth Media

Tyson Still – Winecrush

Duffy Baker – Duffy Baker Construction corp.

Shaun Kennedy – Moments Under Frame

Raina Lutz – Lutz Nutrition

Jessica Agur Dolan – Ramada Penticton

Ryan Ranit – NuVista Chiropractic and Wellness

Cameron Betts – Betts Electric

Ashlyn Olafson – Blenz Coffee

Shayna Merritt – Smugglers Smoke House

Business Leader of the Year – Sponsored by TD Canada Trust – Small Business Banking

Tyson Still – Winecrush

Jason Cox – The People’s Soda

Kristen Ferguson – The Nest & Nectar

Nicole Clark – KISStrategies for Business Inc.

Fred Harbinson – Penticton Vees

Shaun Kennedy – Moments Under Frame

Randall Bamford- Save-On-Foods

Jim Cressman – Invictus Entertainment Group

Mare McHale – RedHead Mare Media

Michael Magnusson – Cascades Casino

David Kampe – Peters Bros. Construction & Paving

Business of the Year – Sponsored by Minuteman Press

Duffy Baker Construction corp.

The Nest & Nectar

Chic Mobile Boutique

Moments Under Frame

Melt Mineral Spa

Valley Medical Supply

Save-On Foods

Life & Love Photography

Grasslands Nursery

Moduline Industries Ltd.

Total Restoration Services

Invictus Entertainment Group

Cherry Lane Shopping Centre

Eclipse Helicopters

Area 27

Poplar Grove Winery

Pearce Schneiderat

To report a typo, email:


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Pop-up banner image ×