Summerland voters oust three incumbents

Three new councillors will join acclaimed Mayor Janice Perrino around the council table

Janice Perrino won the Summerland mayor’s race by acclamation, but it was a close contest between the 10 candidates vying for the six council seats.

Orv Robson (1,861) was the top choice among voters, followed by Martin Van Alphen (1,675), Robert Hacking (1,586), incumbent Bruce Hallquist (1,522), former councillor Peter Waterman (1,365) and incumbent Lloyd Christopherson (1,298).

A narrow margin between first and last for the hotly contested seats saw incumbent councillors Gordon Clark (1,146), Ken Roberge (1,243) and Jim Kyluik (1,147) ousted. Also narrowly missing the mark by just 62 votes was Donna Wright (1,236).

The Summerland election results could mean significant changes at the council table as four members of the previous council will not return.

Perrino is pleased to see three on council who have not been councillors in the past.

“It was excellent to see Orv Robson and Mary Van Alphen place so well,” she said, “and I’m thrilled to see Robert Hacking elected. Congratulations to everyone for a well-run campaign.”