Freestyle club recognizes its top athletes

Apex Freestyle Club had an awards ceremony for its top skiers

APEX FREESTYLE CLUB winners are as follows starting in the back row from left: Alec Henderson

APEX FREESTYLE CLUB winners are as follows starting in the back row from left: Alec Henderson

Apex Freestyle Club put the spotlight on their top athletes with an awards ceremony.

Earning the junior competition most valuable athlete male and female awards were Alec Henderson and Rhya Covert, respectively. The top freestyle development athlete was Ryan Paulhus, while Jesse Howden is the male Rookie of the Year. Kaelan Covert was named the most improved male with Anna Spence named the most improved female. James Naude took home the sportsmanship award.

The male and female Top Gun Big Air winners were Rhys Swenson and Shaina Finlayson. Brayden Kuroda won the Top Gun moguls. Mackenzie Schwinghamer was the female winner for the same award. Koleton Phipps is the male Top Gun dual moguls winner, while Madison Parker is the female winner. The male and female winners of the Top Gun Park and Pipe award went to Cam Kapusty and Kassidy Todd. Mark Anthony is the Top Gun Freeride athlete. Sam Holinaty and Chloe Kober received the male and female personal achievement award. Matt Finlayson was named the Top Gun Combined athlete.

In other news, the AFC club has athletes moving up to the B.C. Freestyle Mogul development team, but will still work with the club and receive enhanced training and competitive opportunity. Moving up are Kassidy Todd, Shaina Finlayson, Max Todd, Hayden Person, Joe Durham, Koleton Phipps, Sam Cordell and Brayden Kuroda. Cameron Kapusty and Matt Finlayson have been named to the B.C. Freestyle Pipe and Park Team and begin their first camp July 5 in Whistler. Alumni Riley Culver is returning for his fourth season with the team and will compete nationally and internationally.