Skip to content

Historic 2012 Penticton Vees heading to BC Sports Hall of Fame

Vees won a record-breaking 42 games in a row, on route to a national championship
The record-setting 2011-2012 Penticton Vees will be inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame next June. (Photo- BC Sports Hall of Fame, Twitter)

A record-breaking Penticton Vees squad from more than a decade ago will be B.C. sports royalty by next June.

The 2011-2012 Vees, winners of a record 42 games in a row on route to both a Fred Page Cup and national championship, have been announced as part of the Class of 2023 for the BC Sports Hall of Fame.

Penticton’s squad from 2012 — led by head coach Fred Harbinson and future NHLers Troy Stecher and Mike Reilly — will be joined by former Vancouver Canucks defenceman Dennis Kearns, NFL kicker and Super Bowl champion Mitch Berger, as well as Olympic gold-medal skier Kelsey Serwa.

The Class of 2023 was unveiled Tuesday afternoon, Oct. 25, just three months after the same Vees squad was inducted into the unrelated BC Hockey Hall of Fame in Penticton.

Penticton finished the 2011-2012 campaign with a record of 54-4-0-2, setting the single-season BCHL record for wins, points and winning percentage. Its 42-game winning streak still stands as a Canadian junior hockey record.

The Vees will be one of two teams inducted into the Hall of Fame next June inside Vancouver’s BC Place, with the other being the 1971 Richmond Roadrunners men’s lacrosse team.

READ MORE: Kelowna’s Kelsey Serwa headed to sports hall of fame


Pop-up banner image