WCRA wraps up season with big races

Locals do well in final race of Wine Country Racing Association season

The Wine Country Racing Association 2014 racing season came to a close Oct.12.

Osoyoos, B.C.’s Glenn Taylor drove his black 1951 Mercury pick-up to victory over Mark Sheriff of Summerland to take home the trophy in the Sportsman Bracket. The champion of the Street Warrior class was Taylor Dean of Summerland. Dean cruised his 2007 GMC truck past Penticton’s Kevin Clarke, in his orange 1973 Camaro.

The Pro Bracket final belonged to Kelowna’s Ron Carlson, in his grey 1970 Nova which defeated Chad Abougoush and his purple 1970 Cuda. Kelowna’s Vanessa Richards sailed her blue 1989 Mustang by 14 other competitors, including Dean Book of Penticton to snag the Super Pro title.

In the Bike/Sled class the trophy went to Osoyoos’s Steve Macor and his purple Kawasaki motorcycle. Macor took down Oliver’s Warren Brown in the final round.

The Fastest Reaction Time trophy went to Coleby Phelps of Penticton. Phelps scored an absolutely perfect .500 light on his orange Kawasaki motorcycle.

The Ron Tasker Memorial trophy for sportsmanship was awarded to Ernie Bartelson, from Oroville, WA. Bartelson drives a super cool 1951 Chevy, known as Glory Daze.